Skip to main content

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein's Recognizes San Diego Food Bank as “Nonprofit of the Year”

For immediate release:

SAN DIEGO - AD 77 Nonprofit of the Year 2019During the celebration of California Nonprofits Day in the State Assembly, Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (San Diego) proudly honored the Jacobs & Cushman San Diego Food Bank as the 77th Assembly District’s 2019 Nonprofit of the Year for their outstanding record of service and positive contributions in our community.

“The San Diego Food Bank has served an important role in our community through the years,” said Maienschein. “I truly appreciate their work providing food and other resources to those who are in need in the San Diego region.”

As the largest hunger-relief organization in San Diego County, the San Diego Food Bank provided 28 million pounds of food last year and serves 350,000 people per month on average in the region. They serve working-poor families, fixed income seniors, elementary students who live in poverty, and low-income, active duty military families.

“On behalf of the San Diego Food Bank’s board of directors, staff, supporters, and family of volunteers, we are truly honored to receive the 77th District Nonprofit of the Year Award for our work in the community,” said James A. Floros, President & CEO, Jacobs & Cushman San Diego Food Bank. “It takes a community to feed a community, and this award honors the wonderful people who make our mission possible. We thank Assemblymember Brian Maienschein and the California Assembly for recognizing the Food Bank’s vital mission in the community.”

Around 24,000 people volunteer at the San Diego Food Bank’s warehouse each year, distributing food directly to San Diegans and helping to provide food to over 500 nonprofit organizations that operate feeding programs, like soup kitchens and churches.

“I am honored to name the Jacobs & Cushman San Diego Food Bank the 77th District Nonprofit of the Year in recognition of their essential service on behalf of our San Diego community and the people of California,” said Maienschein. 

The Nonprofit of the Year honor is one of the ways the State Assembly recognizes the nonprofit organizations that provide services and assistance to many of our fellow Californians. An annual Capitol tradition, honorees are presented with a framed certificate from the State Assembly recognizing their outstanding contributions.

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein, of San Diego, represents the 77th Assembly District in the California Legislature, which includes the communities of 4S Ranch, Carmel Mountain Ranch, Carmel Valley, Clairemont, Del Dios, Del Mar Heights, Fairbanks Ranch, Kearny Mesa, Mira Mesa, Poway, Rancho Bernardo, Rancho Penasquitos, Rancho Santa Fe, Sabre Springs, San Carlos, San Pasqual Valley, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Valley, and Tierrasanta.